Description
The "Forget about this site" feature in the History pane is intended to remove all saved user data that indicates a user has visited a site. This includes removing any HTTP Strict Transport Security (HSTS) settings received from sites that use it. Due to a bug, sites on the pre-load list also have their HSTS setting removed. On the next visit to that site if the user specifies an http: URL rather than secure https: they will not be protected by the pre-loaded HSTS setting. After that visit the site's HSTS setting will be restored. This vulnerability affects Firefox < 69 and Firefox ESR < 68.1.
Affected products
Version statuses are supplied by the assigning organization. Consult the original record for detailed ranges and platform conditions.
Mozilla Firefox
unspecified to < 69affected
Mozilla Firefox ESR
unspecified to < 68.1affected
References
- https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1564481 ↗
- https://www.mozilla.org/security/advisories/mfsa2019-25/ ↗
- https://www.mozilla.org/security/advisories/mfsa2019-26/ ↗
- http://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-security-announce/2019-10/msg00011.html ↗
- http://lists.opensuse.org/opensuse-security-announce/2019-10/msg00017.html ↗